Tags

, ,

In September, flight tickets from Norwegian were reduced in price, and so I grabbed the chance to visit my good friend Ragnhild in Bergen. Bergen is Norway’s second largest city after Oslo, with approximately 250,000 inhabitants. (But the reason why the number is so “high” is because they include people living on farms two hours away in the city population census…). It lies on the beautiful west coast, it is the gateway to the fjords…and thus the Bergen natives are understandably proud.

While waiting for Ragnhild to wrap things up at work, I treated myself to a typical Norwegian lunch: dark bread rolls with butter and goat cheese, bun with home made custard and a cappuccino. Typical Norwegian prices too – a staggering £11. But oh god, it was worth it…

Also bummed around a bit to make time pass. After getting lost a couple of times I found the characteristic Hanseatic houses by the Bergen docks. Together they make one of Norway’s UNESCO World Heritage Sites:

The day after, Ragnhild and her friends Ann-Kristin and Vidar took me to see Old Bergen:

And this is what McDonald’s looks like in Norway…

Despite the rain, I had a really fantastic weekend – and I don’t think I’ve laughed as much as I did in a long long time! And a special thank you to Vidar who housed Ragnhild, Ann-Kristin and me in his spacious flat for three nights! In return, we (read: I) pimped up his car in a whim of childishness…

