Tags

,

The Proms is an annual eight-week series of classical music concerts held in the Royal Albert Hall in London every summer. Most people associate the Proms with “The Last Night of the Proms”, which is televised (also in Norway) and featuring patriotic rather than classical music such as “Rule Britannia”, “Land of Hope and Glory” and “God Save the Queen”. While it is nearly impossible to get tickets for the last night, I did get tickets for Prom number 16, which consisted of French favourites by Berlioz, Fauré and Dusapin, followed by Stravinsky’s “The Firebird” (which was my main reason for choosing Prom 16 in particular). I am no expert on classical music, but I do enjoy it tremendously.

Now I’ve always wanted to see the inside of the Royal Albert Hall, and it was as large as I had imagined:

I enjoyed the concert a lot, especially Stravinsky. But I fell asleep during Dusapin. I had never heard of him previously, but yesterday was some UK premiere of a new piece by him…and well, I hate to say that it was absolutely awful and audiences were looking at each other wondering what the hell was going on. But oh, “The Firebird”. Let me just use this last sentence to declare my love for Stravinsky.

