So as you know, I am doing a summer course in computer graphics at Central Saint Martins. They are moving to new purpose built venues at King’s Cross this autumn, but for now they are still located in these old, iconic quarters on Southampton Row. We’re on the top floor, in a stunning studio attic overlooking London – and with all the stairs we have to climb, I am sure I will be super-fit in addition to super-knowledgeable by the end of the month!

So basically, this course is not only an introduction to various graphic design software such as Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Illustrator, InDesign etc., but also a training in creative thinking. Our teacher believes that first and foremost, a good idea should be done by hand, and then scanned and refined on the computer. What people have a tendency to do (and I am particularly guilty of this) is to work out ideas on the computer; but because they either use the software erroneously or the software only has limited abilities, creativity is stifled rather than stimulated. I am hoping to rid myself of this nasty habit and dare to explore more options and materials by hand prior to painting on the computer.

While I am relatively familiar with Photoshop, I am lost when it comes to everything else, and therefore this is a very challenging (but fun!) course for me. However, there is one major obstacle that makes me lag behind the rest: we are required to use Macs. I have been a PC girl all my life, and I just can’t seem to work myself around this weird square object with an Apple on. I keep treating it as a PC, but it won’t follow my regular PC commands, and hence I keep asking embarrassing questions such as: “So…how do I get back to the desktop again??” and “Uhm…how do I copy+paste this??”. At times I just want to throw it into the wall or jump on it, because it makes me feel so dumb. I know everyone says that graphics equals Macs, but so far I really cannot notice any difference at all. Other than that my Mac hates me and has a life of its own. I am sure we will be friends in the end…or cool acquaintances.

Got my student pass. Feeling so VIP…

Otherwise, Henrik is getting on splendidly with his bartending course, and has basically turned our kitchen into a bar…

…in which he uses me as guinea pig. Tonight he poured me drunk on Brain Haemorrhage and Tequila Sunrise…

See why it’s called Brain Haemorrhage? Yikes.

