Tags

, ,

I am now back in London for a little while! The reason why I am here is because I am doing a 3 week computer graphics summer course at Central St. Martins starting on Monday, where I will be learning how to use programs such as Photoshop, Dreamweaver etc. to my advantage when creating art and graphic designs. It runs from 10 am – 5 pm five days a week for three weeks, and I am hoping to have acquired a whole new creative outlook on art by the time I’m done! It also happens that my boyfriend is doing a bartender course in London this month as well, which is a lot of fun seeing that he is living with me in my flat!

Yesterday Henrik took me to the oldest pub in London (or at least it claims to be…), namely “Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese” on 145 Fleet Street. There has been a pub on this location ever since 1538, however like several older pubs, it was destroyed in the Great Fire of 1666 and rebuilt shortly after. (However, the pub’s vaulted cellars are thought to have belonged to an original guest house located on the site already in the 13th century). There are pubs which are older because they survived the fire, however the Cheshire Cheese is unique due to its lack of windows resulting in a gloomy interior and a dark, unspoilt character. Twain, Tennyson, Conan Doyle, Dickens etc. are all said to have been regulars here. And according to a sign by the entrance, they are even known to haunt the place.

Judging by the doorways, the regular 17th century man was extremely short, and even I with my 5’4” had to bend my head! We went through a narrow alleyway and descended a narrow staircase (with sawdust!), and then we reached the cellar vaults, which once again were rather low. The pub was pretty crowded, but we were lucky enough to find a small table, and we enjoyed some tasty and hearty English pub food!

Classic English favourite – a good old Sticky Toffee Pudding with custard!

PS: If you wanna try out another one of London’s oldest pubs, you also have The Tipperary on the opposite side of Fleet Street. It survived the Great Fire because it was made of stone. Also, “Ye Olde Cock Tavern” on 22 Fleet Street looks pretty funny:

