So, a twist of fate this evening would suddenly have me spend my next week in Norway volunteering for the organization CISV Norway, where I will be working at a camp for children living in Norwegian refugee reception centres. My friend Nora was requesting some last minute volunteers, and feeling bad for bumming around my house already after four days, I immediately signed up. I must confess though, not having any younger siblings, I am not used to being around children whatsoever. But I am sure they don’t bite…or do they?

CISV is a religiously and politically independent group touching upon important issues such as integration, the lack of it unfortunately being a massive social problem in Norway and Scandinavia in general. Their camps aim to create a safe and educational environment for children coming into Norway from various cultural backgrounds, creating positive associations with diversity.

Feeling hyped and slightly nervous at the same time.

