Got home around midnight a few days ago. It feels weird, but imperative to come home for a while. While year 2 has been great overall, this last term has been the worst ever, consisting of exam revisions, parts of our ceiling collapsing due to a leakage from the flat above, and stress with finding and signing in a new tenant. In the end we all became like ticking bombs, ready to explode at any moment due to frustration upon frustration. Year two has been challenging, not only academically, but in the sense that we all now have to deal with the responsibilities of having a flat of our own. However, I believe we have all matured greatly and learnt a lot, and we are growing increasingly aware and less naive.

I miss London and everyone, but this break could not have come at a better time. I need to retreat, be alone and reload my batteries. I am very excited for next year, but now that I am here amongst the fields and the cows, London and UCL feel like light years away, and I intend for it to stay like that for a while.

The plan for me now is to stay in Norway for a couple of weeks, and then go back to London in July. I am doing a 3-week computer graphics course at Central St. Martin’s, and at that time I will also possibly be helping Feizi Gallery’s European office (remember the gallery I worked for last summer?) to put up an art exhibition in London. Henrik is also doing a bartender course in London over the summer, so he will be living with me in July which I think will be a lot of fun! (And weird, we’ve been together for 4 1/2 years and have never lived in the same country before!)

Anyway, let me show you what I am enjoying at the moment. This is my village, only a few km north of Oslo, characterized by a typical eastern Norwegian landscape of rounded hills and plains. As of 2011, 1,158 people live here. It has a primary and secondary school, a gas station, a supermarket, a post office, a flower shop, a church from 1925 and a hair dressers (which I went to today…). I used to pass this landscape on my way to school every day, but only after moving to the city have I come to appreciate its lush beauty:

Funnily enough though, I am spending more money here than in London where I actually have to buy food etc. myself. Four of us grabbed a cab the other day. It was my first time grabbing a taxi with friends in Norway, and I was in for a shock. The journey took us 10 min, and cost £45….insane!!!!

