Tags

, , , , , ,

This week I have had both Henrik and Ditta over, and the poor two of them has had to deal with me at my most stressful as Val and I have been running around dealing with our letting agency and bank to tie up all the loose ends regarding our tenancy renewal before summer, the process being quite complicated as we are getting a new tenant in. However, I wanted at least one day where we could set all those things aside and enjoy our time left in England, and thus I booked a day trip for us with Anderson Tours to Bath and Stonehenge for a very reasonable £55 each. It has always been one of my big dreams to see both Bath and Stonehenge, the former because I am an avid Jane Austen fan, and the latter because I have some slight pagan tendencies…

First stop were the Roman Baths, a bathing complex over a natural hot spring built while parts of the British Isles were under Roman rule. Most Roman cities had such baths, however from what I understand this is the only naturally occurring thermae spa in the country. The building seen in the picture is a Georgian addition built on top of the Roman ruins, however the water still runs through the original Roman lead pipes…

Afterwards we enjoyed a lovely posh lunch at the famous Pump Room, a neo-Classical salon which has been regarded as “the social heart” of Bath for more than two hundred years, back to the days when Jane Austen used to live here. It lies just adjacent to the baths, and here we also got to taste the water from the hot springs which is drawn into a fountain for drinking. It was mildly awful and tasted like iron, but apparently it offers great health benefits, and people used to drink several pints a day once upon a time…

Bath town centre:

Royal Crescent, probably the most famous spot in Bath. Have you seen the newest adaptation of “Persuasion” from 2007? In the film, the Elliot family supposedly live here, and you’ll recognize it at the end when Anne is running after Captain Wentworth…

Bath Assembly Room, built in the 18th century, is the largest Georgian interior in Bath, and one of the only few of its kind remaining in Britain. If you have seen a lot of Regency costume dramas, you can imagine what took place here – evening balls, card games, and families and crazy mothers coming in for the social season hoping to marry off their daughters to eligible bachelors attending the balls. Jane Austen’s novels “Northanger Abbey” and “Persuasion” both mention the Assembly Rooms in Bath.

The thought of Mr Darcy’s potential presence was almost too much to bear for some…

We only had three hours in Bath, and seeing that lunch took up 45 minutes, it felt way too short. However, we got to soak up an impression though, and I can safely say that I’ll be back, because it really is a beautiful place!

After getting back on the bus, we drove to Stonehenge, which is about an hour’s drive from Bath:

It was a lot smaller than I had imagined, however while I was listening to the audio guide I began to really understand the complexity and ingenuity of the structure, and in the end I just stood looking in awe at what really only looks like rocks. May or may not have reached a mild spiritual epiphany.

I had a really great day out of London with my friends. Now that we are actually living in England, I think it is worth spending a bit of money getting out of London once in a while and explore what else these lovely isles has to offer. And now I think I need to read “Pride & Prejudice” again…

