Tags

, ,

My parents are in London for the weekend, and it feels great (and safe!) having them over!

Yesterday we went to the Playhouse Theatre to see the rock’n’roll musical Dreamboats and Petticoats, based on popular jukebox songs from the 50’s and 60’s. Having grown up with American 50’s and 60’s music such as Del Shannon, Neil Sedaka and Adam Faith, I was no different than the people of my parents’ generation who had all come to The Playhouse to re-experience and reminisce a time gone by.

Now, WHY have there been no advertisements for this show anywhere in London? The venue was half-empty which is a disaster, because it is THE MOST FUN and genuinely heartfelt show I have ever experienced! At the end, I was standing up with the audience doing the twist, and witnessed that people over fifty had not lost their moves even though five decades have gone by! It was warm, hilarious, bittersweet and nostalgic, and it brought a slight tear to my eye seeing how grown men lit up when hearing songs from their past, when the world was still innocent and they were greasing their hair with wax before taking their sweethearts to the school dance.

I wish I was 16 and it was 1961.

