Tags

,

Yesterday I took the bus up to Oxford to see my aunt, uncle, cousins and my grandma. As you may have guessed from previous posts, I LOVE Oxford. With 160,000 people it is a lot more energetic than Cambridge, and being only 90 minutes from central London by bus, it feels very much close to the centre of things. At the same time, it is also more slow phased, tranquil and intimate, its historical surroundings giving it a flair of magic and mystery. No wonder they chose to film so many of the Harry Potter scenes here.

I can really picture myself living here at some stage in my life, for example in a little house outside the city centre with a little garden patch where I can paint while humming to the music of Enya. I don’t know, for some reason I just feel extremely happy when around Gothic and medieval architecture. Must have had a previous life which was somewhat like the “Pillars of the Earth”…

Snapped some photos of the city centre before going to my aunt and uncle’s house:

Aerial shot of Oxford:

And here I am with my cousins Tabitha and Jemima, my auntie Ann and my Grandma:

All my 8 cousins in the UK are mixed, and everyone who sees us together tell me I look like I could be Jemima’s sister! (Must be the long hair and the Eurasian genes!). I think we are quite a fascinating family with a quite a fascinating Western/Eastern mindset. (Chinese steamer + English breakfast tea anyone?)

I had such a great day in Oxford – so nice to have family nearby who take such good care of me!

