Tags

,

Last Wednesday – a really freezing, windy and wet Wednesday, Rae and I went on a day trip to the gorgeous Blenheim Palace in Oxfordshire, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and birthplace and ancestral home of Sir Winston Churchill. We took the Oxford Espress from Victoria Station to Oxford, and from there the local route bus which stops right outside the palace gates. Fighting our way through a group of Chinese tourists (which some people thought I was a part of, what the…?), we finally reached our humble abode:

The estate and gardens were huge, but because of the awful weather conditions we just could not bring ourselves to staying out for too long. We really wanted to try out the maze, but in fear of getting lost and never managing to find our way out and thus freezing to death, we refrained. However, we did take a look around the backyard:

Rae taking up the fight with a lion…

Poor Rae was in a state of shock upon seeing this statue:

We were not allowed to take pictures inside, so I got this one off the internet. It was my favourite room in the house – the library – filled with books on art, history and philosophy. I could have parked my lazy self there all day.

As the tourist that I am, I converted my ticket into an annual pass. So I am definitely skipping around here in the spring as well.

