Today, on my 5th visit to China, I finally got my act together and tried fire cupping for the first time. Having heard various records on “how painful” it is, I dragged poor Nik with me as moral support, telling him to “be a man”.

According to Wiki:

“In traditional Chinese medicine, cupping is a method of applying acupressure by creating a vacuum on the patient’s skin. The therapy is used to dispel stagnation – stagnant blood and lymph, thereby improving qi flow – to treat respiratory diseases such as the common cold, pneumonia and bronchitis. Cupping also is used on back, neck, shoulder and other musculoskeletal  conditions”.

So if you have 20 minutes on your hand and 38 RMB in your pocket, you can have your skin sucked into a glass too! Fun fun fun!

It was painful, but bearable. Basically it felt like someone came with a particularly powerful hoover and tried to suck your skin off. Poor Nik was letting out these high-pitched shrieks, causing the cupping guy to giggle.

Nik after his treatment:

Me after my treatment:

My boyfriend says my back looks repulsive, but the morbid, twisted side in me find the bruises to look extremely cool. I seriously LOVE them and want to poke them all the time. I feel like someone just beat me up, but then again cupping is only supposed to help if you are actually sick…

