Tonight I went for Ladies’ Night with a free flow of champagne at the highest bar in the world, sitting on the 93nd floor of the new Shanghai World Financial Centre, the third tallest skyscraper in the world (left):

Us ladies with our champagne:

View over the Jinmao Tower and the Oriental Pearl:

I laughed so much when I saw this toilet, which was surely developed in Japan. It gives me the choice between “Rear Cleansing”, “Soft Rear Cleansing” and “Front Cleansing”, all with various temperatures and power levels. Can I just get a regular flush? No? Oh ok.

I had great fun going up to the SWFC – it was one of the things that I really wanted to do during my stay here, as the tower did not even exist the last time I was in Shanghai. However, do not think Shanghai is stopping there – they are already building yet another tower due for completion in 2014, and which will dwarf the already gigantic SWFC,  becoming the second tallest building in the world only after Burj Dubai (far right):

In terms of architecture, there really is no place like Shanghai. It believe it beats every other city in the world.

