Saturday after work my room mates and I went to Din Tai Fung near Shanghai Old Town for one sole purpose: To stuff ourselves senselessly on dumplings! Shanghai is especially famous for one particular kind of dumpling, namely “Xiao Long Bao” (lit. “small steaming basket”), which is a tiny steamed dumpling traditionally containing soup with pork. Who would have known that there was so much happiness in one little dumpling?

Pork and vegetable dumplings:

The famous, and may I add heavenly, Xiao Long Baos:

Me becoming increasingly Chinese for every day that goes by:

To finish off a wonderful meal, Wei Zhao and I ordered almond jelly! It tasted suspiciously like Norwegian Christmas marzipan:

I also made sure to capture a couple of shots of Shanghai Old Town, all stunningly lit up at night:

So many wonderful flavours to taste, so much beauty to behold…how can one lifetime ever be enough?

