I realize that I rarely write about Norway in my blog, as opposed to Sweden. I have always had a very complicated relationship to my country of birth, probably both due to my international heritage, and because I am simply an extremely restless person by nature who always needs to cross country borders. However, let me use this opportunity to congratulate this amazing country on its constitution day, and show you in words and pictures why, despite feeling close to many countries, this is the only place I would ever fight for:

  • Norway ranks as the third wealthiest country in the world in monetary value, with the largest capital reserve per capita of any nation.
  • Norway maintains a Scandinavian welfare model with universal health-care and subsidized higher education.
  • Norway was ranked highest of all countries in human development from 2001 to 2007, and then again in 2009.
  • Norway was rated the most peaceful country in the world in a 2007 survey by Global Peace Index.

So once again, happy birthday Norway!

