A photo of us HAMS (History of Art with Material Studies) students after our Science for Art Historians exam:

(I’m second from the right)

We were all happy and relieved that it was over. Because of other exams, I (like most of us) did not start revising properly for this one until two days ago, and it was a weekend of pure hell trying to cram a whole semester’s worth of chemistry into my brain. I usually am tense before exams, but this one really had me in a state of panic, making me convinced that I was the most screwed person in the world and that there was no chance in hell that I could ever pass it. However, against all odds my brain did not fail me in my darkest hour, and I managed decently. It is amazing what a weekend of intense studying and ignoring mealtimes, bedtimes and personal hygiene can do. (I know, being a student is a disgusting occupation).

It felt so wonderful being able to do something “normal” tonight. Like doing my laundry, having dinner in the dining hall or watching an hour of “The 10th Kingdom” with Valerie. Feels like I haven’t been able to do simple stuff like that for weeks. I still have my Chinese written exam to go in two weeks, and I have printed out a compilation of the 3000 most frequently used Chinese characters which I will begin memorizing first thing in the morning, but it is at least comforting to know that now I can study at a more humane phase.

I think I will go somewhere tomorrow all by myself. Maybe I will visit Temple Church or just go for a walk in the park. Photos to come if I do.

