Deep inside the financial district of City, where suit attired employees roam around with briefcases and lattes, a secret treasure is hidden. A treasure so hidden that most people are not even aware of its existence. In this morning of bright sunshine I could not bring myself to study, and I decided to go to City and the bridge which falls down to seek out this gem of hidden London gems, despite my original intention having been to go to the library. After checking my map a few times and almost stepping on a couple of London pigeons, I found my place of dreams – St. Dunstan-in-the-East:

The ruins make a perfect setting for wall shrubs and climbers:

A beautiful dash of vibrant red creating a lovely contrast to the old church walls:

This is a popular place for workers to sit during lunchtime on weekdays, but during the weekends it apparently becomes eerily quiet…

Originally an Anglican church built in 1100, St. Dunstan-in-the-East suffered severe damages during the Great Fire of London in 1666. Architect Sir Christopher Wren had it rebuilt in a Gothic style, but a few centuries later the roof was crushed during The Blitz of 1941, and all that remained was the empty shell of the structure. It was eventually turned into a garden and re-opened to the public in 1971, and it is now claimed to be one of the most beautiful gardens in London, having won many awards.

Would you like to seek out this green oasis for yourself? It is a small place, but for me, being a combined history freak and lover of everything Gothic, it was love at first sight. It was like stepping into my own fantasies and visions – I did not know you could actually find places like this in real life. I have to paint it. And put on some medieval choir music. Yes, excellent idea Cathrine.

