I love red. It is a Chinese lucky colour, and it is so energizing, making you come alive even when you are looking pale, tired and disgusting overall.

Ewa, Lida, Rebecca, Helen and I went to Chinatown for dinner yesterday. We went to a restaurant which I have completely forgotten the name of, but it was a really nice, small unpretentious place with excellent food and fast serving. Rebecca and I took charge of the orders, being overwhelmed by the array of tasty dishes presented to us on the menu, and bursting out in successive “let’s have this” and “lets have that-s”. In the end we went for Beijing Duck, pork belly, fried monk’s vegetables, fried prawn noodles, egg plant with garlic, spring rolls and prawn crackers. It was like being back in China – for once I managed to get genuine Chinese food in Europe, and the fact that the restaurant served to a mainly Chinese clientèle is always a good indication that the food won’t be too Westernized.

My chopstick skills are appalling (especially for a half-Asian), so what I do is usually just lift the bowl up and shove the food into my mouth, or be plain rude and stab the chopstick through whatever I am eating. In Ewa’s world however – if you can’t eat with your chopsticks, release your aggressiveness by killing your neighbour:

After having stuffed ourselves senselessly and become knocked up with food babies (and even walking like women in an advanced stage of pregnancy), we went into some random Chinese grocery stores where I reached grocery heaven. This is how an Asian looks like at the sight of rice, instant noodles and Hello Kitties:

Ewa became very fascinated with the carton illustrations, and tried to imitate them. (I forgot to tell her to stick her tongue up as well!):

Look!! Mummitrollet!! But…what the hell was Mummi and Snorkefrøken doing on a Chinese tin can!?

“GET AWAY LIDA!! I SHALL HAVE THE KITTY!! IT IS MY KITTY!!”…”JEG SKAAAALLLL HA PUSEKATTEN!!”

“MY KITTY, MY LITTLE KITTY!!”

Once again, Ewa severely misunderstood the use of chopsticks…

“IT IS MY LOLLIPOP!! MIIINE!!!”

Being in Chinatown was even more exciting than going on a holiday. When I get a kitchen next year, I will do my grocery shopping here all the time and try out all the recipes from “Ching’s Kitchen”. Oh, and bite of the head off a few more Hello Kitties.

