So I am applying to Next Step Connections today to see if they can get me an internship in China. Problem is – should I go to Shanghai or Hong Kong?? Both are such amazing cities!

Shanghai

Pros:

  • Fees (for a 2 month internship + accommodation) are £1000 less than Hong Kong.
  • Greater chances of me being able to practice my Mandarin, although the local dialect is Shanghainese.
  • It is the home of the 2010 World Expo, so it is bound to be exciting.

Cons:

  • Not many people speak English.
  • It is the home of the 2010 World Expo, so it is going to be even more packed than it usually is.
  • Polluted as hell.

Hong Kong

Pros:

  • Official languages are Cantonese and English.
  • Hong Kong is more Westernized. Not saying that is necessarily good, but perhaps for a confused Westerner it is.
  • Hong Kong is my favourite Asian city.
  • Hong Kong has a nicer surrounding nature and less pollution.

Cons:

  • Fees (for a 2 month internship + accommodation) are £1000 more than Shanghai.
  • I won’t be able to practice my Mandarin to the same degree as in Shanghai.

God, this is so hard. Heart says Hong Kong, head says Shanghai.

