Valerie has encouraged me to sign up in the very last minute for the National Portrait Gallery’s annual BP Portrait Award 2010. It is open for all people aged 18-30, and 60 lucky people out of approximately 2000 will get their portrait painting exhibited in the National Portrait Gallery in London! How amazing is that!? Seriously, that could be my painting hanging in the room next to a Van Gogh! Many artists who have had their work exhibited in the National Portrait Gallery have gained commissions in the aftermath, and in addition to this some lucky bastard is gonna run off with a first prize of £25,000. If I ever win that money, I am buying Singapore.

The work has to be in by March 25th, and I haven’t even started yet, having only learnt about the competition a few hours ago. However, I did some preliminary sketches today, desperately trying to come up with something revolutionary and original, while thinking of all the artistic and creative demons that I am positive are my competitors. Went through some of the exhibition catalogues from previous years, and they tend to pick a predominant number of naturalistic, melancholic oil paintings. I can do naturalistic without problems, but it is too time-consuming for my busy student-schedule. So I am going to go for something fun, funky, stylized and modern, and hopefully they will find my alternative portrait exciting and inspirational, although if not slightly garish and decorative rather than deep and expressionistic.

Well, before I go all overboard picturing myself sunbathing on some rooftop in Singapore, I should remember that it is me against 1999 highly skilled trained artists. I used to win drawing competitions as a kid, but get a grip Cathrine – this is war. However, even if my work is rejected, this competition is exactly the sort of kick in the backside I need to get painting again. Yes, I know I am just saying that to heal my wounds and hurt pride in case I don’t win.

Talking about art, I had my morning lecture at the TATE Modern today! It is possibly the ugliest building in London, but it holds one of the world’s largest and most important collections of modernist art:

Tate Modern

Millennium Bridge

