Tags

, ,

Happiness

Happiness

Today I came back from my five days in Sweden, and I had a great time as usual. I hope Henrik did too, despite me dragging the poor guy out in the woods so I could try out the various functions on my new camera. After ten minutes of me skipping around, Henrik stated that he wanted to go back inside as he was exhausted due to “the cold breeze and too much fresh air”.

Henrik enthusiastically posing...
Henrik enthusiastically posing…
Autumn is here

Autumn is here

Happily skipping around in the woods

Happily skipping around in the woods

Since Henrik found himself unable to come to Norway for my birthday, he decided to treat me for a night about town instead. Starting with a lovely meal at a Chinese restaurant, we went to the cinema to see the new Quentin Tarantino movie “Inglorious Basterds”. We both loved it. Despite its length and preferance for dialogue rather than action, it never got boring. Brad Pitt was hilarous, making everyone roll with laughter – although he was only one in a parade of quirky characters wonderfully portrayed by the respective actors. A WWII movie with a twist – quite unlike any other WWII movies you have previously seen!

To me Sweden has become a place of refuge. I get to be with the person I adore the most in this whole wide world, and he erases every notion of sorrow in my head. It is always sad stepping onto the homebound train knowing I have to go back to Norway and reality. However, it was especially sad this time, as I realized this would be my last visit to Sweden before moving to London. I have come to love Henrik’s home and family so much that the idea of not coming back for perhaps months actually made me cry.

Now I am going to make myself a cup of tea and cheer myself up by planning my birthday party and relaxing in front of the television. I have every reason to be happy though. Tomorrow I am meeting up with Marianne for a cup of coffee after work, and my salary this month turned out to be 2000 NOK more than anticipated! Smile Cathrine, smile.

